CIS heads of government council in Astana

CIS is composed of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.
CIS heads of government council in Astana
05 November 09:33 2018 Print This Article


The heads of government of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) discussed 15 agenda items during a scheduled council meeting in the Kazakh capital.

For more than a quarter of a century, the CIS has served as a full-fledged organisation that allowed preserving historical ties between  peoples and helped strengthen the sovereignty of each country. Mutual trade within the CIS continues to grow: last year, turnover amounted to $164 billion, an increase of 25 percent. A similar trend continues this year.

“The integration of technology parks and the implementation of joint innovation projects will provide a major synergetic effect for the creation of high-tech production in the commonwealth”, said Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev.

Last year, Kazakhstan’s trade with CIS countries grew by almost 25 percent, reaching $22 billion. In the first half of 2018, the figure increased by 10.6 percent to $13.6 billion (compared to $12.3 billion in the same period of 2017). From January-July, exports from Kazakhstan to CIS countries grew by 16.9 percent ($5.3 billion).

The delegations highlighted the importance of the CIS Concept of Cooperation in developing and producing high-tech energy equipment. They believe it allows for expanding and modernising production facilities and creating new high-performance jobs, as well as increasing research potential and, in general, strengthening development of the energy sector, engineering and industry.


Print this entry

view more articles

About Article Author