Kazakhstan ratifies border agreements with Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, and Kyrgyzstan

The Kazakh Senate ratified  the border agreement between Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan that determined the points of juncture on the countries’ border.
Kazakhstan ratifies border agreements with Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, and Kyrgyzstan
31 October 11:48 2018 Print This Article

The agreement was signed in November in Samarkand with the participation of Kazakh Minister of Foreign Affairs Kairat Abdrakhmanov and his counterparts from Uzbekistan Abdulaziz Kamilov and Turkmenistan Rashid Meredov.

“In accordance with the document, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan defined the Kazakh-Turkmen border line “.

The agreement can be considered a “historical document for Central Asia,” the Kazakh foreign minister said last year.

The Senate said in a press release the document will “facilitate the completion of an international legal formalisation of the state border of Kazakhstan, eliminate potential prerequisites for territorial issues at the point of juncture.”

During the plenary session, the deputies also endorsed the border agreement between Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.

The agreement sets out the starting point at the point of juncture of borders between Kazakhstan, China and Kyrgyzstan, while the end point is at the juncture of border of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan.

The sides will review the demarcation of the border that stretches across 1,257 kilometres once each 10 years, and each country will control and manage its border signs.

The agreement is perpetual and cannot be denounced.

Print this entry

view more articles

About Article Author