Russian, Kazakh, and Belarus leaders to hold meetings before the Supreme Council

May 31, 2016 10:10 am

Today Astana is hosting the meeting of the Supreme Council of the EEU which is bring together all five leaders of the member states of the Union. The leaders of Russia, Kazakhstan, and Belarus will also hold bilateral meetings on the sideline of the event

On Tuesday, the Kazakhstan’s capital of Astana is hosting the meeting of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) Supreme Council. Leaders of the five EEU (Eurasian Economic Union) member states, namely Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia, and Kyrgyzstan are to take part in it.

The presidents are expected to discuss the prospects of boosting mutual integration, including the creation of single market for gas, oil and oil products, as well as the expansion of the union’s trade and economic ties with other countries.
During the meeting of the Supreme Council it is expected that the member states will discuss the guidelines for macroeconomic policies of the EEU Member States for 2016-2017 earlier approved by the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC). The document addresses a number of issues aiming to improve economic performance of the member states during a difficult period of economic crises and turbulence on global energy markets.

On Monday, Russian Presidential Aide Yury Ushakov said the Russian leader was expected to hold talks with his Kazakh counterpart Nursultan Nazarbayev on the sidelines of the meeting to discuss issues of bilateral relations, international problems and integration processes. According to the official website of the president of Russia, Vladimir Putin is not going to hold meetings with other leaders of the EEU before the Council.

On Monday, the Kazakh leader hold a bilateral meeting with Belarus President Alexander Lukashenko where the current and potential common projects which provides for tightening of bilateral relations were discussed.

There is no information on any scheduled meeting of the other EEU members before the Supreme Council.

The Russia-Kazakhstan-Belarus-led EEU founded in January 2015, provides for the free movement of goods, services, capital and labor among its five member states.

Source URL: