Belarus has changed its national ruble

Jul 1, 2016 12:13 pm

The Republic of Belarus starts its third denomination of national ruble since 1994

Belarus has launched a denomination of national currency, reports newsagency BELTA.

Earlier this week, Russian newsagency TASS reported that in the first days after the denomination there might be some fails, therefore the National Bank recommended to keep some cash and make priority payments before July 1.

Back in November 2015, the President of Belarus had signed a decree to launch the denomination of national currency on July 1, 2016 and to replace notes of the 2000 series with notes and coins of the 2009 series by 31 December 2016 at a rate of 10000:1. A total of seven denominations of banknotes –5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, and 500 rubles – and eight denominations of coins – 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 cents, and 1 and 2 rubles – will be introduced.

From 1 July to 31 December 2016, manufacturers, retailers, vendors, and other providers of goods and services will have to specify their price in both notes. In its turn, the National Bank will have to ensure the release of new notes of the 2009 series and to withdraw notes of the 2000 series.

Source URL: